DWI/DUI

Listen, we all understand that bad decisions can be made when we've had too much to drink. When those bad decisions lead to you getting behind the wheel of a vehicle, the consequences can be disastrous. Even if you don't get into an accident, if you're pulled over and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), the repercussions can be felt for years to come.

Don't let your life be ruined by one moment of poor judgment. At the Law Office of Mathew T. Jett,  we work with clients across the St. Louis area to fight DWI charges and reduce the impact of consequences so that they can move forward and put this incident behind them. If you're facing a DWI charge, it's important that you have an experienced defense attorney working with you to help maximize your chances at successfully defending your case.

If you've been pulled over for a DWI infraction of any kind, it's important that you understand the Missouri DWI laws so that you can be prepared to defend yourself against any charges. Like most states, Missouri has DWI laws that prohibit anyone from driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The penalties for driving while intoxicated can vary depending on the details of your situation, so it's important to understand how the state will decide what action to take when considering the specifics of your offense.

Missouri Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits

In the state of Missouri, if anyone is found to be operating a vehicle with a BAC level of 0.08% or above, then no other evidence of impairment will be needed for the driver to be charged and convicted of a DWI. This is known as a "per se" BAC limit law, as it allows the state to establish a specific limit where a person is considered intoxicated, regardless of any other details or circumstances. This is an important rule to consider, as many individuals may feel and even be able to behave as if they are sober. Even if you appear sober, you will be charged and convicted of DWI if your BAC comes back at 0.08% or higher.

The state also allows for an enhanced penalty for anyone who has a BAC level that reaches 0.15% or higher. This is known as an "aggravated DWI" charge and can carry stiffer penalties than a normal DWI charge. Additionally, anyone who is under the legal drinking age of 21 will be penalized at an even lower BAC level of just 0.02%. This state policy is known as the "zero tolerance law" and allows for the state to charge minors with a DWI for any BAC level at 0.02% or higher.

FACING A DWI IN MISSOURI?

LET ME DEFEND YOUR RIGHTS

Missouri Criminal Penalties for DWI

The penalties levied by the state for a DWI charge can vary depending on the BAC level and the number of prior DWI convictions. Typically, the penalties for a DWI are as follows:

  • First Offense - A first offense is considered a Class B misdemeanor. In Missouri, the minimum jail time for a class B misdemeanor is 48 hours and the maximum jail sentence is 6 months. This can also come with a fine of up to $500.
  • One Prior Conviction - A minimum of 10 days in jail must be served and a maximum jail sentence of 6 months.
  • Two Prior Convictions - A minimum of 30 days in jail must be served and a maximum jail sentence of 6 months.
  • Three Prior Convictions - A minimum of 60 days in jail must be served with some community service options for early release.
  • Four or more Convictions - A minimum of two years in jail must be served.

The state will also automatically suspend or revoke the driving privileges of any individual convicted of a DWI, with the length of the suspension depending on the number of prior convictions. Certain individuals can apply for a "restricted driving privilege," which will allow you to drive while your license is suspended using an ignition interlock device — a device that requires you to blow into a mouthpiece and read a legal BAC limit before starting the vehicle.

Regardless of whatever circumstances you may be facing with your DWI, it's important to remember that you don't have to face this situation alone. The Law Office of Mathew T. Jett is here to provide you with a strong defense so that you can limit the damage a DWI charge can have on your life. If you or someone you know is in need of an experienced DWI defense attorney, call our office today to begin your free consultation.

DWI DEFENSE ATTORNEY SERVING ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI

Many of us have been in the position where we’ve had too much to drink. If you’ve found yourself facing a difficult DWI charge, the consequences of a conviction can be devastating. The good news is, you don’t have to face this challenge alone. The Law Office of Mathew T. Jett is here to ensure you have a strong defense for your case. Call today for a consultation.